Bathroom Transformation Days Seven and Eight

I must apologize to those of you who have been following this particular thread (Fixator) for the lapse in updates.

I sort of expected that nothing much would happen yesterday, since it was Labor Day and since Adorable Little Contractor spent all day Saturday here working on the floor.  I took advantage of the long weekend and I did made my bi-wekekley trip to M&Ms apartment to do my laundry.  Because I was expecting Adorable Little contractor to be here around 9:00, I got up and out early.  I arrived at M&Ms house around 9:30 and started my laundry….  OK…  Before I get too far down that road, let me remember that nothing exciting happened.  Around 2:00 in the afternoon, we headed off to Dave and Busters in Milpitas, CA.  I’ve never been there before so it was interesting (and kinda dissapointing – I thought there’d be more to it.)  It was fun enough, but I’m not sure how worth the trouble it was…

I did the Fast and the Furious races several times.  Raced against both M&M (AKA Green M&M) and her sister Yellow M&M.  They both beat me…  REPEATEDLY.  Later we went to a motor cycle racing game….  They beat me theere too…  and NONE of us knew how to ride a motorcycle.

Beaten by girls…  Over and over.  I really am a sissy… 🙂

Green and I watched I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry too.  It was really good, I thought.

Anyway, I got home around 10:30 PM.  The first thing I noticed when I walked in the house was that it smelled kind of like paint.  I wasn’t expecting painting yesterday.  As far as I knew, the floor was going to be grouted and sealed yesterday.  So I went in to check it out, only the new light fixture hasn’t been installed yet so there was no light in there besides the hall light.  The walls appeared to be mint green.  Really bad!!!!

Green said “At least it’s not pink.”

“Um yeah…  Mint Green is NOT good.”  I would have really hated to have had him paint the whole room just to hate the color.  Fortuantely, I realized that was just the primer.  ALC had taken down the thick plastic he had hung and he rehung it from the walls instead of the cieling.  My shower this morning was a little more… intricate than normal.  There was a big gap in the curtain that, had I not been careful, would have spilled water all over the floor behind the toilet.

So it’s clear to me that I need to take my “after” pictures in day light but here goes all the same…

I came home tonight to find this.

I really like the color, but it doesn’t show up very well on the pictures.  Hopefully, in the daytime with full daylight it’ll be clearer.  I was having second thoughts when Whealer Dealer LandLady backtracked on her conditions for me picking the color (I have to return it to “antique white” when I moe out) of paint but now that I’ve seen the final result I’m very glad I didn’t back out.  I’m planning to paint the rest of my apartment when I get the chance.  The vanity is going to look nice once it’s finished and installed.  Things are looking pretty good.  I just wish I had a shower curtain.   Thanks to the painting, the make shift shower curtain has been removed and now I’m either supposed to try and carefully use my handheld shower wand without a shower curtain, or I’m going to have to go back to using the trickle in the basement at work.  Neither one is terribly appealing to me.  I don’t guess I have much of a choice though.  I hope that the new shower rod will be installed soon.  It looks to me, like ALC should be finished in the next day or three with his part of the renovations.

Leave a Reply

