This is a Song for the Lonely (Because I Have Very Little Originality in Me…)

I saw this idea on another blog recently and thought it was kind of interesting.  And now every time I turn on my iPod I think of it, so here goes.  Here’s how it works.

Put your music player on shuffle, and write down the first line of the first twenty songs. Post the poem that results. The first line of the twenty-first song is the title.

The Sun’s Reflecting Off the City Limits Sign

It’s not easy, trying to understand how the world can be so cold

The snow is falling, the city is white

I say my hell is the closet I’m stuck inside

I am timeless

You hold me and a hundred rainbows fill the sky

You tell me that you’re leaving

Ophelia drowned in the water, pushed by her old man

I’m rolling out of Bakersfield, my own private hell on wheels

When I was very young, nothing really mattered to me but making myself happy

From the moment the lights went off every thing had changed

Even though she’s on my mind

Well it looks like you finally made the front page

How do you document real life when real life’s getting more like fiction each day

I’ve been working so hard

I like the way you move

You look so disbelieving at my suitcase by the door

I want to find me a car with only one headlight

Can’t keep me down

I won’t let you down, I will not give you up

I thought about the converstation I had with you last night.

In order:  Clay Walker, Faith Hill, 98 Degrees, Dave Matthews Band, Martina McBride, Jody Watley, Gloria Estefan, Jewel, Martina McBride, Madonna, Maroon 5, Sugar Ray, Clay Walker, Rent (Originan Broadway Cast), Kenny Loggins, Kaskade, Lorrie Morgan, Melissa Etheridge, Pink, George Michael, Lonestar

4 Responses

  1. Cool! I’ll have to try this tomorrow.

  2. wow! I like this idea! Hahahahaha, quite fun.

    Josh

  3. and by “a blog,” of course, you meant MY blog.

    at least you linked it, y’know…i’m not sure what i would have done if I hadn’t gotten any credit.

    I probably would’ve sung you the “Copacabana”…or “Love Fool”

    for I AM that mean.

  4. Oh no!!!! Not that! Anything but that!!! I promise to give you all credit. Hell, I’ll credit you for stuff you didn’t come up with to avoid that!!

Leave a Reply

