For Money Makes the World Go Around, the World Go Around, the World Go Around. Money makes the World Go Around, the Clinking, Clanking Sound of Money, Money, Money, Money, Money, Money, Money, Money, Get A Little, Get A Little, Money, Money, Money, Money, Mark, A Yen, A Buck or A Pound, That Clinking, Clanking Clunking Sound is All That Makes The World Go Round, It Makes The World Go Round.

Captain Jean-Luc Piccard and Lily sloane

Captain Jean-Luc Piccard and Lily Sloane

As I discussed in my previous post, I was a big fan of the Star Trek Universe, growing up.  I always enjoyed Star Trek:  The Next Generation, having made it a point never to miss it.  Naturally, I have seen all of the movies, many times, as well, and a moment that has always stood out for me, comes from what is actually, in many ways my least favorite of the films, Star Trek: First Contact.  There is a scene in the film when Captain Jean-Luc Piccard, is explaining the economics of the future to a very frightened Lilly, played by Alfre Woodard.  “Money does not exist anymore in the 24th century, humans have advanced beyond the drive for material wealth and possessions.”

I remember how wonderful that thought was to me.  How nice, not to have to worry about having the money for things.  How nice to have a higher ideal.  Of course I realize that the reality is that without money, if everything that currently relies upon currency were so readily and easily available to us, it would be disastrous because we would become lazy, worthless bums.  Nevertheless, every time I’m faced with financial difficulty (greater than the norm, that is) I think about this world where money is not needed and I wish so very strongly that I lived there.

My Mitsubishi Endeavor

My Mitsubishi Endeavor

The Saturday before Thanksgiving, I was out and about with Green M&M.  I had just finished a day of shopping with spending more money than I should have at Target and we were ready to leave the parking lot.  I turned the key in the ignition of my 2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor, a vehicle which, with the exception of a break-in six months after I bought it, I have never had a problem with and I looked down at the console to see that my “Service Engine Soon” light was still on, even after all the other lights had gone off.  No money to pay for repairs and plans to see Eve on the Friday after Thanksgiving for which I’d have to drive 65 miles one way, the glowing light had me pretty worried.  Fortunately, it was a relatively simple fix (The Oxygen Sensor needed to be replaced) but it cost $405.00, which I did not have and had to borrow from Green M&M in the form of putting it on her credit card. I told her then I would not be able to pay her back before February and now, that’s looking iffy.

New Years Eve in Las Vegas

New Year's Eve in Las Vegas

Green M&M and I are going to Las Vegas for New Year’s Eve.  The trip was planned three or four months ago and the air fare and hotel are paid for.  Now I’m four days away from the actual trip and realizing I have no money to spend on the actual trip.  No money for food.  No money for gambling (I only ever play nickle slots) and no money for souvenirs of any kind.

I have spent the day trying to figure out how I’m going to make this work and I’m still at a loss.  It’s really frustrating to me, to be sitting here the day after I got paid, and seeing $1800.00+ in my bank account and knowing I have no money.  That amount has to cover my rent, car insurance, therapy bill, and household necessities.  And it’s just not enough.  I entertained the idea of a payday advance, and still might have to do that but I expect that would create more problems than it solves in the long run.

How nice would it be if money weren’t necessary.  How nice would it be to have transporter devices in stead of automobiles/airplanes.  The Star Trek Universe is looking better and better all the time!

Leave a Reply

